Member of
IATO - Indian Association Of Tour Operators
ASTA - American Society of Travel Agents
TWA - Tourism Welfare Association

Taj Mahal of Agra, India – Seven Wonders of the World

Taj Mahal of Agra, India – Seven Wonders of the World

 History of Taj Mahal Agra, India

Taj Mahal, one of the Seven Wonders of the World is in Agra and so it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in India not only for domestic but also for foreign travelers. Agra located in the north Indian state of Uttar Pradesh forms the Golden Triangle of Indian tourism with Jaipur and Delhi .

Read More : Agra Tour Package

  Taj Mahal Agra India is more than just a mausoleum

It has been described by the poet Rabindranath Tagore as a "teardrop on the cheek of eternity". As an expression of the height of the Mughal dynasty's architectural genius in the Indian subcontinent, as the symbol of a bereaved emperor's love for his empress, and as an inspiration to countless photographers and artists who have tried to capture its many subtle nuances of light and shade, the Taj Mahal continues to captivate people worldwide with its history, its design, and its symbolism of eternal love.

  Why Taj Mahal of Agra, India is famous worldwide?

The world famous seven wonders of world the Taj Mahal, popular as the personification of love, was built by Emperor Shah jahan in the memory of his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal. Taj Mahal is the most visited tourist attraction of India because it looks the same from all four sides. 20,000 craftsmen from Italy, Persia and Turkey were engaged on the construction of the Taj Mahal by the bank of the river Yamuna which started in 1632 and was completed in 1653. The Taj Mahal is flanked by two smaller red stone buildings, one a mosque and the other a rest house. Like any other temple in India here also you need to put a cloth around your feet in order to enter the mausoleum. It can be available on rent with a small fee from shops just before the stairs leading to the tomb. Taj Mahal has a very fine marble carvings ornamented with several precious and semiprecious stones of

several colors. It was in 1983 that the famous Taj Mahal became a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Aside from the Taj Mahal, Agra has two other UNESCO World Heritage Sites: Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri. Taj Mahal in the night is a sight to behold but entry is restricted.

Timings to visit Taj Mahal, Agra, India: Taj mahal is opened all days except on Friday it was opened between 06:00 am to 06:00 pm.

Entry Fee of Taj Mahal, Agra, India: For ticket details click here

Top Things to do in Agra

Taj Festival 2018

Agra Tour Packages

View Agra Tour Package


golden triangle tour india

Golden Triangle Tour