Member of
IATO - Indian Association Of Tour Operators
ASTA - American Society of Travel Agents
TWA - Tourism Welfare Association

IRCTC's third private train to start from Varanasi (Kashi Mahakal Express) Feb 13th, 2020 from Times of India

 Kashi Mahakal Express

Indian Railway’s PSU IRCTC will be formally inaugurating the third corporate train on 16th February in Varanasi. The train will start running on the set commercial routes from 20th February. The new train will be named Kashi Mahakal Express and it will run between Varanasi and Indore.

The train will connect three important shrines Jyotirlinga – Omkareshwar (near Indore), Mahakaleshwar (Ujjain) and Kashi Vishwanath (Varanasi). Apart from pilgrims, the train will also serve as a direct route students traveling between educational hubs like Bhopal and Indore.

The new Kashi Mahakal Express will be the first corporate train to travel long distances. It will be a superfast air-conditioned overnight journey train with berths.

Here’s the complete route of the train including the halts:

Varanasi—Ujjain—Sant Hiradnagar (Bhopal)—Bina—Jhansi—Kanpur—Lucknow/Prayagraj—Sultanpur—Indore

Since this is the first overnight train run by IRCTC, travelers will receive a host of new facilities on board. IRCTC claims they will provide high quality vegetarian food, on-board bedrolls and housekeeping services and on-board security services. The passenger will also be covered with a complimentary travel insurance of Rs. 10 lakhs during the journey.

Similar to the two Tejas Express trains, the third IRCTC train will only be available for booking on their website and the mobile app ‘Irctc Rail Connect’. Passengers can also avail current booking for the train after the first chart is prepared which is 4 hours prior to the scheduled departure.

Authorized agents and online travel partners of IRCTC can also book tickets for travelers. Bookings will open 120 days prior to the travel date and the passengers will only be able to book in general or foreign tourist quota. In case of cancellation, IRCTC will provide a refund for both confirmed as well as wait-listed passengers.

IRCTC will also be offering various tour packages that will cover the major pilgrim sites on both sides of the journey. The sites that will be covered under these packages include Kashi , Omkareshwar, Mahakaleshwar, Bhopal, Sanchi, Ujjain, Bhimbetka, Ayodhya and Prayag .

Click here for more Recent NEWS related to Religious Places